Official Player Websites Subscribe - Free Newsletter

Sports News First

Four clubs announce best and fairests

By Chris Pike
7 September 2013 02:02PM EST

GARY Ablett has won the fourth best and fairest award of his career, Joel Patfull his second and Jack Steven and Rory Sloane their first club champion awards announced on Friday night.

Gold Coast, Brisbane, Adelaide and St Kilda all got in early to host their best and fairest awards for the 2013 season having missed out on playing finals.

Ablett has now won three straight club champion awards with the Gold Coast Suns, in the club's only three seasons in existence, giving him five for his career to go with the one two won at Geelong in his Brownlow Medal year of 2009 as well as premiership year of 2007.

Ablett was Gold Coast's leading vote getter eight times throughout the season and in the top three in 13 of the 21 matches he played in.

The 29-year-old polled 260 votes in the Gold Coast award to win from Dion Prestia (213), Jaeger O'Meara (204), Rory Thompson (162), Jarrod Harbrow (149) Danny Stanley (142), David Swallow (135), Aaron Hall (130), Trent McKenzie (120) and Harley Bennell (103).

That in itself shows just why the Suns have such a bright future. Experienced recruits like Ablett, Stanley and Harbrow are stepping up, O'Meara and Bennell are two of the most exciting talents in the game, Swallow and Prestia are star hard-working midfielders and Thompson is a long-term key position player.

Another exciting youngster Jack Martin was ineligible to play in the AFL this season but won Gold Coast's NEAFL Player of the Year award and will burst onto the scene in 2014.

Adelaide had a disappointing fall from preliminary finalist in 2012 to not playing finals at all in 2013 but one shining light without question was Sloane as he claimed his first Malcolm Blight Medal.

The 23-year-old had a breakout 2012 season and then went up another level again this season to claim the club champion award after just playing 78 matches.

Sloane won the award by polling 71 votes to win ahead of Richard Douglas (68), Patrick Dangerfield (60), Daniel Talia (60), Andy Otten (51), Luke Brown (47), Scott Thompson (45), Ben Rutten (41), Tom Lynch (40) and Brad Crouch (39).

Sam Jacobs, Taylor Walker, Brent Reilly, Nathan van Berlo, Michael Doughty and Matthew Wright were all in the top-10 last year but not there again in 2013 highlighting some of the reasons why the Crows weren’t able to back up with another finals campaign.

St Kilda had a tough season winning just five games but one shining light was the emergence of Steven as one of the most dynamic, consistent and damaging midfielders in the competition.

As a result, the 23-year-old was awarded his first Trevor Barker Award as the Saints' best and fairest winner for 2013 after averaging 26.9 disposals a game while being placed in the top 10 in clearances, handballs and disposals.

Steven collected more than 30 possessions in seven games this season including a career-best 47 disposals against Fremantle in Round 23.

He won the award with 152 votes ahead of Nick Riewoldt (115) and Leigh Montagna (113) with Jarryn Geary, David Armitage, Nick Dal Santo, Sean Dempster, Clint Jones, Farren Ray and Dylan Roberton round out the top-10 for 2013.

Brisbane Lions defender Patfull has pulled off a bit of a surprise by winning his second straight Merrett-Murray Medal as the Lions' best and fairest for 2013.

The 27-year-old again played every game of the season for the Lions and was rock solid in defence to claim back-to-back best and fairests.

Patfull had a better season in terms of numbers than his 2012 finishing with 50 more possessions, 26 more marks, 11 more rebounds from the defensive 50, 23 less clangers and eight more contested marks.

He also again led Brisbane in marks (114), spoils (140) and intercept possessions (135).

Patfull won the award with 31.5 votes to be just ahead of Pearce Hanley (30.5), Jack Redden (26.5), Tom Rockliff (25), Dayne Zorko (25), Matthew Leuenberger (24), Jed Adcock (20), Brent Moloney (18), Andrew Raines (18), Mitch Golby (16.5) and Sam Mayes (16.5).

Your view first

Add your comment... Comments (0)